top of page

Code for Sustainable Homes

Updated: Jul 5, 2019


New Buildings ✔

Residential Dwellings ✔

Design Stage ✔

The Code for Sustainable Homes is a credit-based assessment system for new residential dwellings, and outlines a method for sustainable building which exceeds the requirements set out within the Building Regulations. 

Although the Code was never adopted in Scotland, it became mandatory within England and Wales for all new homes until 2014, when Wales abolished the scheme entirely. In 2015, England followed suit and dropped the scheme as a mandatory practise for new-builds, however applications submitted before 26 March 2015 will need to see The Code through to the end.

HQM is a similar credit-based assessment scheme, launched in ___ as 'a badge of a better home'. It is a detailed assessment which provides a method of proving a dwelling has been built to a higher standard than 'the norm'. Read more about HQM.

Code for Sustainable Homes credits are awarded for meeting guidance on 9 sustainability topics:

Energy and carbon dioxide emissions

  • Water

  • Materials

  • Surface water run-off

  • Waste

  • Pollution

  • Health and wellbeing

  • Management

  • Ecology

Each category represents a known source of environmental impact for which mitigation measures can be cost-effectively implemented. 

Measurement against such a diversity of categories can be difficult or time-consuming to collate, assess and submit. Our team of experts will work with you to ensure the correct data is collated and complies, and make strategic recommendations about which credits may be most appropriate to aim for. 

Call our Leeds office on 0113 257 7300 to arrange a consultation with our Sustainability Team, or email for further information.


bottom of page